Ballycraigy Primary takes the ‘Best Kept’ Crown

Antrim-based Ballycraigy Primary School has been crowned, ‘Overall Outstanding School’ at this year’s Open+Direct Insurance ‘Best Kept’ Awards. The awards ceremony, held at The Education Centre in Crawfordsburn Country Park, saw 5 schools battling it out for the ‘best ofBTP-090615BT1-001 the best’ title with
the Antrim school coming out on top. Nearby St Joseph’s Nursery School was also named as runner up in the Best Kept Pre-Primary School category.

Almost 200 schools entered this year’s Open+Direct Insurance ‘Best Kept’ School Awards, which are run by the Northern Ireland Amenity Council. The competition encourages both staff and pupils to work together to improve the school’s environmental surroundings.

Speaking at the awards ceremony, Doreen Muskett MBE, Chair of the NIAC said:

“We were very impressed by each and every school entered in this year’s Open+Direct Insurance ‘Best Kept’ Awards. The eco-friendly ethos and environmental projects showcased by schools in each region of Northern Ireland’s Education Authority illustrates the high level of innovative and creative thinking for developing an eco-garden from recycled or bio-degradable materials.

“Congratulations to all our school winners, especially Ballycraigy Primary School who proved their school’s immaculate cleanliness, beautiful eco-garden and outstanding recycling projects were simply ‘Best of the Best!’” continued Ms Muskett MBE.

John Laverty from Open+Direct Insurance added,

“CBTP-090615BT1-002ongratulations to all 2015 Open+Direct Insurance ‘Best Kept’ School award winners. This is our first year as sponsors of these prestigious awards and we are truly astounded at the incredible effort displayed by schools across Northern Ireland.

“The idea of communities working together to improve our surroundings is a powerful thing in Northern Ireland and part of the reason Open+Direct Insurance wanted to support the awards this year. The notion of working together for the greater good is instilled at a young age through initiatives such as the Best Kept School Awards and we’re delighted to be involved this year,” added Mr Laverty.

On the day, Ballycraigy Primary School received a crystal trophy, attractive signage and a monetary prize which can be used to further develop the school’s eco-friendly ambitions.

The full list of 2015 ‘Best Kept’ School winners is as follows;

Education Authority Pre-Primary Primary Post Primary
Belfast Matt Talbot Nursery School Harberton Special School Victoria College
Western Denamona Pre-School Jones Memorial Primary School St Comhghall’s College
North Eastern Earlview Nursery School Ballycraigy Primary School Ballyclare High School
South Eastern Downpatrick Nursery School St Joseph’s Primary School Beechlawn Special School
Southern Tandragee Nursery School Blessed Patrick O’Loughran Primary School Sperrinview Special School